Five Romanian cities pledge to reduce CO2 emissions by up to 40%

alba-iuliaAlba Iulia, Roman, Focsani, Fagaras, and Rosiorii De Vede are the five Romanian cities that aim to reduce their CO2 emissions by 20-40% in the coming years, according to

Four of them, namely Alba Iulia, Roman, Focsani, Fagaras, hope to achieve this target by 2020, while Rosiorii de Vede has set the deadline for 2030, according to a statement from Terra Mileniul III Foundation, which implements this project.

Among the areas where municipalities have identified opportunities to reduce emissions by implementing energy efficiency policies are the municipal buildings, residential buildings, public lighting, transport fleet, public transport, and private or commercial transport.

Some of the measures to be taken include the modernization of public lighting, the improvement, and modernization of the auto fleet, the rehabilitation of buildings, the use of renewable energy, infrastructure work aimed at easing traffic, the purchase of vehicles with low fuel consumption, and the arrangement of larger green spaces.

The five cities also want to promote green acquisitions, to organize activities meant at raising public awareness, as well as professional training in the energy area.

The five cities have received assistance in drafting the necessary documentation for joining the Covenant of Mayors through the Green Cities – Green Regions project. The project is co-funded by a grant from Switzerland given through the Swiss Contribution to the enlarged EU, and implemented by Terra Mileniul III Foundation in partnership with the R20 – Regions of Climate Action in Switzerland and the Association of Municipalities of Romania.

The Green Cities – Green Regions project started in April 2015, and is being conducted nationwide over a period of 24 months. The project has a total value of CHF 277,565 (some EUR 258,000), out of which CHF 28,116 represents the partners’ contribution.


Read more HERE



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

sixteen − three =